Bluebird, poem by Charles Bukowski

I enjoyed this poem

Silver Birch Press

Image
A friend sent me a link to a video of a pensive, philosophical cat, whose thoughts mirror the words of “Bluebird,” a poem by Charles Bukowski. This cat sounds a lot like Harry Dean Stanton. (Bukowski was a cat lover, so I hope he would have enjoyed this — If not, sorry, Hank.)

BLUEBIRD
Poem by Charles Bukowski

there’s a bluebird in my heart that
wants to get out
but I’m too tough for him,
I say, stay in there, I’m not going
to let anybody see
you.
there’s a bluebird in my heart that
wants to get out
but I pour whiskey on him and inhale
cigarette smoke
and the whores and the bartenders
and the grocery clerks
never know that
he’s
in there.

there’s a bluebird in my heart that
wants to get out
but I’m too tough for him,
I say,
stay down, do you…

View original post 102 more words

Leave a Reply

